11 September 2007

A Northern BC Literary Booklist

Let me know what is missing!

Baldwin, Jacqueline

--Threadbare Like Lace (Caitlin, 1997)
--A Northern Woman (Caitlin, 2003)

Belford, Ken

--Ecologue (2005)
--Pathways into the Mountains (2000)
--The Post Electric Caveman (1970)
--Fireweed (Very Stone House, 1967)

DeLeeuw, Sarah

--Unmarked:Landscapes Along Highway 16 (NeWest)

Fawcett, Brian

--Friends (Georgia Straight. Writing Supplement, Vancouver Series #4 / New Star, 1971).
-- Opening (New Star, 1974)
--Permanent Relationships (Coach House Press, 1975) - poetry
--Creatures of State (Talonbooks, 1977) - poetry
--Aggressive Transport: Two Narrative Revisions, 1975-1982 (Talonbooks, 1982)
--My Career with the Leafs and Other Stories (Talonbooks, 1982)
--Capital Tales (Talonbooks, 1984)
--The Secret Journal of Alexander Mackenzie (Talonbooks, 1985)
--Cambodia: A Book For People Who Find Television Too Slow (Talonbooks, 1986)
--Public Eye: An Investigation into the Disappearance of the World (Harpercollins, 1990)
--Unusual Circumstances, Interesting Times: And Other Impolite Interventions (New Star, 1991)
--The Compact Garden: Discovering the Pleasures of Planting in a Small Space (Camden House, 1992)
--Gender Wars: A Novel and Some Conversation About Sex and Gender
(Somerville, 1994)
--The Disbeliever's Dictionary: A Completely Disrespectful Lexicon of Canada Today (Somerville, 1997)
--Virtual Clearcut: or The Way Things Are in My Hometown (Thomas Allen, 2003)
--Local Matters: A Defence of Dooney's Café and other Non-Globalized Places, People, and Ideas (New Star, 2003)

Harris, John

--Above the Falls, 2007, Touchwood Editions
--Tungsten John, 2000, New Star Books
--Other Art, 1997, New Star Books
--Small Rain, 1989, New Star Books

Kane, Donna

--Somewhere, A Fire (Hagios Press, 2004)
--Erratic (Hagios, 2007)

McKinnon, Barry

--The carcasses of spring. Talonbooks, 1971
--The the. Coach House Press, 1980.
--I wanted to say something. Red Deer College Press: 1990.
--Pulplog. Caitlin Press: 1991.
--The Centre. Caitlin Press: 1995.
--The Centre: Poems 1970-2000: Talonbooks, 2004.

Munk, Barbara

--Your One Good Hat (Caitlin)

Murphy, Deryl

--Wasps at the Speed of Sound and Other Shattered Futures (Wildside Press, 2004)

Peters, Sheila

--Canyon Creek: A Script (1998, Creekstone Press)
--Tending the Remnant Damage (Beach Holme)
--the weather from the west (poems)

Rhenisch, Harold

--The Wolves at Evelyn: Journeys Through a Dark Century (Brindle & Glass, 2006)
--Winging Home: A Palette of Birds (Brindle & Glass, 2006)
--Living Will: Shakespeare After Dark (Wolsak and Wynn, 2005)
--Free Will (Ronsdale, 2004)
--Tom Thomson’s Shack (New Star, 2000)
--Carnival (2000)
--Fusion (1999)
--The Blue Mouth of Morning (1998)
--Taking the Breath Away (Ronsale, 1998)
--Out of the Interior (1993)
--Winter (1982)

Robinson, Eden

--Traplines (Knopf 1996).
--Monkey Beach (Knopf 2000).
--Blood Sports (M&S 2006).

Rosnua, Laisha

--Notes on Leaving (Nightwood 2004)
--The Sudden Weight of Snow (M&S 2002)

Rysstad, Jean

--Travelling In (1990)
--Home Fires (Harbour Publishing, 2002)

Sethi, Bal

--Echoes of Time (Writers Forum, Inida)
--Curtained Windows (Caitlin)

Sipos, George

--Anything but the Moon (Goose Lane)

Stanley, George

--Gentle Northern Summer (New Star, 1995)
--At Andy's (New Star, 2000)
--A Tall, Serious Girl (Qua Books, 2003), his selected works
--Opening Day
--The Stick
--San Francisco's Gone

Thesen, Sharon

--Artemis Hates Romance. Toronto: Coach House Press, 1980.
--Radio New France Radio. Vancouver: Slug Press, 1982.
--Holding the Pose. Coach House Press, 1983.
--Confabulations: Poems for Malcolm Lowry. Lantzville: Oolichan Books, 1984.
--The Beginning Of The Long Dash. Coach House Press, 1987.
--The Pangs Of Sunday: Poems. McClelland and Stewart, 1990.
--Aurora. Coach House Press, 1995.
--News & Smoke: Collected Poems (Talonbooks, 1999)
--A Pair of Scissors (House of Anansi, 2000).
--The Good Bacteria (House of Anansi, 2006).

Thompson, Richard

--FROG'S RIDDLE and other draw-and-tell stories. Annick Press, 1990
--THE ICE CREAM BUCKET EFFECT. Caitlin Press, 1993
--FISHES IN THE OCEAN with Maggee Spicer. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1998
--THEN AND NOW. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1999
--THERE IS MUSIC IN A PUSSYCAT. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 1999
--FOO (Annikin Edition). Annick Press, 2000
--FISHES IN THE OCEAN (Big Book edition). Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2000
--THE FOLLOWER. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2000
--WE'LL ALL GO SAILING with Maggee Spicer. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2001
--WE'LL ALL GO FLYING with Maggee Spicer. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2002
--THE NIGHT WALKER. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2002
--WE'LL ALL GO EXPLORING with Maggee Spicer. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2003
--WHEN THEY ARE UP... with Maggee Spicer. Fitzhenry & Whiteside, 2001

Wigmore, Gillian

--Soft Geography. Caitlin, 2007.

Williams, Lynda

--Throne Price (Edge)
--The Courtesan Prince (Edge, 2005)
--Righteous Anger (Edge, 2006)


At 9:39 PM, Blogger Al said...

Rob, you forgot Gillian Wigmore, with "home when it moves you (Creekstone, 2005)" and "Soft Geography (Caitlin, 2007)".

PS -- The Citizen's article on her is linked to Ron Silliman's blog, posted on Sept 12, 2007

At 10:09 PM, Blogger Rob Budde said...

of course, I am teachign it this term! thanks al.

At 1:53 PM, Blogger jj said...

Hmmmm, what about Heather Harris: Rainbow Dancer, or Si Transken--all those poetry anthos-- This Aint Your Patriarch's Poetry Book, Making Noise, Northern Women, the forthcoming, Un/complicated Play/ers and her Don’t Get Even. Get Odd. Prince George: Trans/formative Press, 2006.

or Carla Funk: Her first collection of poems, Blessing the Bones into Light came out with Coteau Books in 1999. Nightwood Editions published Head Full of Sun in 2002. Her third poetry collection, The Sewing Room, was published in December 2006 by Turnstone Press.

or say: Judith Lapadat who was raised in Smithers:author of Mixed Messages.

Doris Ray lives in Fraser Lake:her book is The Ghosts Behind Him. She has published two chapbooks of poetry.

Born in England, Margaret Thompson immigrated to Canada. She lives in the village of Fort St. James, BC. Her first book, Squaring the Circle was published in 1992.
Margaret Thompson is also the author of Hide and Seek.



Post a Comment

<< Home